Everyone’s Favourite Race – The Alan Corke 2021

The first club only championship race for 21 months was a fantastic advertisement for HR, with 56 runners taking part and 35 marshals – expertly co-ordinated by Alan Croucher – giving up their time to ensure that everything went smoothly.

The well above average recent rainfall meant that some sections of the 10.30 kms course were extremely muddy, and the 2.66 laps in the stunning setting of Hastings Country Park at Fairlight proved a real stamina sapping test with over 220 m of elevation.

Many congrats to Will Withecombe and Nicki Steed who won the men’s and women’s trophy in 45.26 and 53.35 respectively; both were participating in an HR club race for the first time as were Charles Bowley, Chris Weeks, Debbie Clark, Jess Hayward, Patience Cooper, Robin Beck, Samantha Welfare and Tracy Brown.

Will, runner up Ashley Vora and 3rd placed Darren Barzee were very closely matched for much of the race, with Will gradually pulling clear on the final lap to finish 19 secs ahead of Ashley with Darren just 25 secs further adrift.

The women’s race was also a tight affair with Nicki and Sue Rae locked together after the first lap; however Nicki steadily forged ahead to claim a comfortable victory by nearly 3 mins. Sue at least had the consolation of winning the FV 50 plus trophy, from runner up Manami Cheves who ran a fine race to come in just 2 mins behind. Darren won the MV 50 plus trophy, with runner up Martin Noakes just over 2 mins behind.

Times were: Will Withecombe 45.26; Ashley Vora 45.45; Darren Barzee 46.10; Martin Noakes 48.29; Paul Burchett 49.26; Patrick Bermingham 49.48; Simon Linklater 49.58; Charles Bowley 53.03; Simon Trevena 53.07; Neil Jeffries 53.11; Graeme Grass 53.24; Nicki Steed 53.35; Susan Rae 56.29; Rob Thomas 57.07; Manami Cheves 58.22; Luke Evans 59.11; Chris Weeks 59.50; Robin Beck 60.56; James Graham 62.04; Jacqui Mannering 62.44; Simon Weatherley 62.45; Jessica Cull 63.06; Jo Lambourne 63.07; Piers Brunning 63.23; Leanne Spring 63.35; Janice Young 64.18; Nigel Thornely 65.42; Sarah Bendle 65.42; Paul Baxter 66.09; Joanne Smith 66.41; Mike Addison 67.03; Keith Goodsell 67.31; Bill Edmondson 67.56; Marie Crawford 67.57; Sarah Marzaioli 70.01; Elly Swaine 70.24; Krista Barzee 70.55; Emma Stubbs 70.55; Victoria Sims 71.17; Sylvia Huggett 71.57; Mike Ellis 72.21; Shana Burchett 72.28; Kim Callow 73.56; Patience Cooper 75.24; Irene Kitson 78.15; Sue Palmer 79.11; Jessica Hayward 79.29; Samantha Welfare 80.20; Michelle Krombholz 80.21; Tracy Ratnarajah 80.32; Danny Ratnarajah 80.32;Tracy Brown 83.00; Louise Cavill 83.00; Debbie Clark 83.01; Chris White 91.19; Alan Croucher (sweep) 91.35.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *